Installation of Sergey Karev in Street Art Museum St Petersburg

International Cultural Policy

DutchCulture is the government’s partner in the implementation of international cultural policy.

Dutch artists are active in virtually all countries of the world. However, in the framework of a multi-year strategic commitment, the Dutch government particularly stimulates activities in a number of priority countries. In addition to this, a tailor made approach will be adopted for some selected countries. The idea is to help strengthen the Dutch profile in those countries and establish a good position for the cultural and creative sector. We are the proces coordinator of the international cultural policy and we offer advise on cultural collaboration with most of the priority countries.

Priority Countries in International Cultural Policy 2017-2020
The priority countries are Belgium/Flanders, China, France, Germany, Indonesia, Turkey, the United Kingdom and the United States

Selected countries tailor-made approach 2017-2020
Brazil, Italy, Japan, South Africa, South Korea and Suriname


Selected countries with a focus on a safer, more just and future-ready world 2017-2020
Turkey, Russia, Egypt and Morocco


Shared Cultural Heritage Countries
The Netherlands collaborates on shared cultural heritage with Surinam, Brazil, the United States, Russia, South Africa, India, Sri Lanka, Indonesia, Japan and Australia.

International Cultural Policy Framework 2017-2020 - eng.pdf


Online publication: Information & inspiration: the impact of cultural diplomacy
The online publication Information & inspiration: the impact of cultural diplomacy, which is a co-production of DutchCulture and the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, highlights examples of best practices that could serve as inspirational tools for cultural diplomacy, and also provides information about Dutch and worldwide organisations, whose work has been highly valuable in the past years.