Still from Cool Kids Don't Cry (Achtste groepers huilen niet, 2012), a film directed by Dennis Bots. The film has won many international awards, including the award for Best Children's Feature at the International Children's Film Festival in Siping, China.

Photo: rinkel films

Film treaty signed between China and the Netherlands

China and the Netherlands have signed a treaty for the co-production of films between both countries
27 October 2015

The Dutch Minister of Foreign Affairs, Mr. Bert Koenders, and the Chinese Minister of the State Administration of Press, Publication, Radio, Film and Television (SAPPRFT), Mr. Cai Fuchao, signed the treaty in Beijing on October 26 during the state visit to China of His Majesty King Willem-Alexander and Her Majesty Queen Máxima of the Netherlands.

The treaty will enhance and facilitate the co-production of films between China and the Netherlands, which will be conducive to the film industries in both countries and to the development of their cultural and economic exchanges. Films that are realised in co-production within the established framework are considered by both countries as national films. The framework offers Dutch films a wider and better access to Chinese audiences as eligible films will be exempted from China’s quota on foreign films.

The treaty has been negotiated by the Netherlands Film Fund  and China’s Film Bureau and China Film Co-production Corporation, with support from the Dutch Ministry of Education, Culture and Science, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, the Dutch Embassy in Beijing and China’s State Administration of Press, Publication, Radio, Film and Television (SAPPRFT). Applications for co-production states will be assessed by The China Film Co-production Corporation and the Netherlands Film Fund.

The Netherlands has co-production treaties with France, Canada and Germany and will sign upcoming treaties with the French Speaking Community of Belgium and South Africa in the near future.